Poetry & Life

  As a lover of writing and literature, I thrive on the inspiration and perspectives I read from other writers. Sarah Kay, spoken-word poet and founder of Project VOICE, has been a favorite of mine ever since my friend recited her poem “B” in our Creative Writing & Speech class during my senior year of high school. It absolutely touched my heart and brought me to tears. I recently watched a TED talk she did called “How many lives can you live?” in which she talks about her childhood aspirations to become a princess, ballerina and astronaut in her lifetime. She discusses her disappointment when she realized that we only have one life to life. She discovered reading literature as an outlet to live other lives and writing poetry as a way to help others experience pieces of her life. She quotes French critic and poet, Paul Valéry,

“A poem is never finished, only abandoned.”  –Paul Valery

She describes literature as being like an entity of its own, which lives on past its author. She also talks about her father’s photography dark room in her childhood home in New York where many of her special memories took place. Sarah Kay has an incredible gift to paint visceral and vivid imagery through her words. Her poems are a gift to all who hear or read them. Listening to Sarah talk about her childhood dreams for her life and the ability to share your life and experience other’s lives through literature made me think of a quote from one of my favorite authors, Flannery O’Connor,

“Nothing needs to happen to a writer’s life after they are 20. By then they’ve experienced more than enough to last their creative life.”    –Flannery O’Connor

Tomorrow is my twentieth birthday and I have spent a lot of time recently reflecting upon the past 19 years of my life. Wow. I certainly could write endlessly about the things I have experienced––heartbreak, joy, uncertainty, love and a myriad of incredible blessings and delightful memories. I am determined to write stories share stories throughout my life, (I am in the process of writing a novel!). I want others to learn from my life and experiences and I want to draw lessons from theirs. Language and literature are incredible tools that many people seem to take for granted. To me, they may be the most important things in life.   {learning to be 21st century social one day at a time}

Leave a Reply

