Spotify: music meets social media

Spotify

 

Last summer my older sister introduced me to the “Spotify” app. She told me how much she loved it and that she would never use other programs or apps like Pandora or iTunes again. Initially I had no idea what Spotify was, and I remember thinking, “I could never stop using iTunes!” Well, turns out I was wrong.

The company was founded by Daniel Ek and Martin Lorentzon in 2006, and the Spotify app was officially released in October 2008 and has been greeted with rising popularity. It has a similar music listening set up like iTunes, but for a monthly rate of just $10 for Spotify Premium, users can access nearly any song through a computer or any mobile device. The free version is similar except for the fact that it cannot be accessed on a mobile device and song changes are intermittently interrupted by a short advertisement.

Unlike iTunes, songs do not have to be purchased individually. More songs are actually available through Spotify than iTunes because Spotify features many obscure artists as well as various versions or covers of almost any given song.

The most unique feature of the Spotify app is that users can follow artists they like as well as connect with Facebook friends and see what they are listening to. Not only can users easily create their own playlists, but they can send songs, messages and playlists to friends. It is also fun to search and explore playlists that other users have created. Users can log into their Spotify account from any computer so they can have their music with them at all times.

I have used Spotify since August 2013, and I absolutely love it. I use it when I get ready in the morning, when I study or do homework, when listening to music with friends and almost everywhere else in between. Through it I have greatly enjoyed sharing music with friends and discovering wonderful new artists. I used to regularly buy new songs or entire albums through iTunes and I know I spent way more money that way than I am by using Spotify. It is worth every penny to me, and I think users who are skeptical should try a free month trial of Spotify Premium and see how they enjoy it.

Music is extremely important to me and Spotify makes it fun, easily accessible and helps me organize my favorite songs to listen to any and everywhere. It is something that people all ages can enjoy.

Although sites like iTunes will likely continue to have a monopoly on video and app purchases, Spotify is rising in use and may potentially become one of the, if not the number one, music streaming site. Personally, I will never go back to using iTunes for music.

Mashable recently wrote an article about the rise of Spotify and how it compares to other music sites. (http://mashable.com/2013/12/12/spotify-may-kill-itunes/)

{learning to be 21st century social one day at a time}

One thought on “Spotify: music meets social media

  1. Chesney Monroe

    I absolutely love Spotify! Like you, I was extremely hesitant to use it at first because I was so in love with iTunes and Pandora. After giving it a shot, I realized quick how much better it is. It amazes me that there are still people who have not ever even heard about it. Hopefully more people read this post and see the light. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

